The organization of the technical-scientific operational area of the Italian National Institute of Health (ISS) is divided into 6 Departments, 16 National Centers, 2 Reference Centers, 5 Technical-Scientific Services and a Notified Body.

The Departments are technical-scientific structures that have the purpose of realizing, managing and developing homogeneous research, control, consultancy and training tasks within the framework of the activities attributed to the Institute and in accordance with the objectives of the Three-year Plan of activity and related updates.