The organization of the technical-scientific operational area of the Istituto Superiore di Sanità (ISS) is divided into 6 Departments, 16 National Centres, 2 Reference Centres and 5 Technical-Scientific Services.

The Departments are technical-scientific structures that have the purpose of realizing, managing and developing homogeneous research, control, consultancy and training activities within the framework of the activities attributed to the Institute and in accordance with the objectives of the Three-year Plan of activity and related updates.